Our normal waking consciousness is but one special type of consciousness, whilst all about it, parted from it by the filmiest of screens there lie other consciousness’; other forms of consciousness entirely different.  We may go through life without ever suspecting their existence but apply the requisite stimulus and in a touch, they are all there in their entirety. Types, different types of mentality which probably somewhere have their feel of application or adaptation, no account of the Universe can be total which leaves these other types of consciousness quite disregarded but how to regard them is the question, for they are so discontinuous with our normal consciousness.  They may determine our attitudes though they fail to furnish formulas.  They may open a region though they do not give a map.  At any rate, they forbid the premature closing of our accounts with reality.

William James

Though I only seem to understand this cognitively, not having had access to any experience much beyond thinking, other then the briefest sensations when I “got” some insight that felt beyond words, beyond explanation. It is from these moments, and from what I’ve read of others’ experiences that I think this is true. More than that it may or may not be so, it seems absolutely necessary to believe this, especially at times, when I can’t seem to fully disregard this consciousnesses, that is, I do not feel fully present here, I question what I perceive in our “normal waking consciousness.” Then it is the only thing that makes sense, the only hope.

