It was 5:30 in the morning and the moon shone bright as I drove down Wiles Road. It was a waxing crescent moon, high in the western sky. I like getting up early in the morning. I fight it at first, but the fresh predawn air and quiet stillness is the best reward. 5:30 in the morning, sitting on the porch, drinking mate, my feet on the railing of the balcony, looking out toward the southwest. It’s the same moon you see setting over the mountains. Passion, Grace & Fire played from a cassette. A bag of them, circa 1990, sat on the floor behind the front seat of the van, circa 1998. The windows were rolled down and the traffic lights glared in the darkness. Sometimes I wish every moment was 5:30 in the morning and all that existed was the moment before anything was supposed to happen.

